Pride For The Nameless

“Orlando”

Even saying it sends shivers down my spine. I close my eyes and I can almost taste the metallic stain of blood in the air. My shoulders retract up to my ears. I am thankful for the silence. Society in my eyes has officially broken.

It wasn’t until I got home from my mundane job yesterday evening, that I learned the savagery of one man. One man responsible for breaking the spirits of thousands. One man responsible for stealing the lives of 50 healthy human beings. One man that crushed me.

There is a difference between being homophobic and being wrong. Being homophobic is an opinion, a distaste, a conservative view. You have a right to be homophobic if you wish as long as it doesn’t violate anybody else’s right to love. Wrong is stealing away someone’s right to life because the way they choose to live antagonizes you. It’s instinctive and disgusting. Personally I thought this species had evolved enough to know that there are people that are different in society. I guess not.

This morning I purchased a newspaper. They tend to include details that the BBC News does not. I sobbed on  the bus as I read a text message  sent from one of the people killed in the night club to his mother. It read “I’m gonna die.” The devastation from this attack has left everybody heartbroken including myself.

As part of the LGBTQ  community, this year I am going to London pride for the moment of silence and to hold hands with my fellow community members. I will dress in rainbows, announce my sexuality, and feel proud! Because without pride we have no visibility, without visibility, we have no acceptance, and without acceptance we are attacked. You don’t have to be Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender or any  other perfectly valid sexuality or gender to know that what is happening is wrong. Support me, support LGBTQ, and by doing so you support love.

Judging someone does not define who they are… It defines who you are.

 

~Fish

 

Leave a Reply

