Goodbye Blood Ties

All families argue. They argue over the smallest inconveniences, and subtle personality differences. Yet when it all comes down to push or shove, they are the people who will stand by you through all.

Me and my parents haven’t always seen eye to eye, and out of all 4 members of the household, I am different. I am eccentric and have a large personality, which juxtaposes to the calm, quiet and level headed human beings that roam these corridors.

Although I haven’t always felt like I blend in, it’s these moments, the moments when I have to leave and move on with my life, that I appreciate what surrounds me.

And I will miss my family. Tailing my parents around the local supermarket, watching them bicker at each other over petty opinions. The way me and my father used to sit and build school projects, build wardrobes and furniture for new houses etc. I didn’t realise until now that it was never a burden, he wanted me to feel accomplished, to feel successful. To grow up knowing I was capable of whatever I set my mind to. The afternoons I would spend having my nails done with my mother while she told me all about the gossip at work. She was helping me to develop a personality of my own, and although there have been moments I have disappointed her, she still loves me no matter how different or difficult I am.

Now that I’m leaving, I realise everything I’m leaving behind, how much effort my parents have put in to make sure Ive had everything I’ve needed, and every opportunity available.

I love you both so much. I may disappoint you, and there will be times we disagree, and I don’t know what the future brings, but I know I would never have made it as far as I have without you. You have shaped me in so many magnificent ways.

 

For mommy fish and daddy fish

 

~Fish

Leave a Reply

